Visa waver for Ni-vanuatu passport holders in Schengen countries

Visa requirements are waived for citizens of Vanuatu who want to stay for a short period of time in Europe (Schengen states)

On 28 May 2015 the EU signed a short-stay visa waiver agreement with the Republic of Vanuatu at a ceremony that took place in Brussels. Similar agreements were signed with six other African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries : St Lucia, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, St Vincent and the Grenadines, the independent State of Samoa and the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. On behalf of the EU, the agreement was signed by Ms. Zanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica, Parliamentary State Secretary for EU Affairs, Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Latvia, and by Mr. Dimitris Avramopoulos, Commissioner for Migration, Home Affairs and Citizenship.

The new visa regime provides for visa-free travel for EU citizens when travelling to Vanuatu and for citizens of Vanuatu when travelling to the EU, for a period of stay of 90 days in any 180-day period. "Today’s agreements will encourage people-to-people contacts, boost tourism, and invigorate business between the EU and these seven ACP countries", said Ms. Zanda Kalniņa -Lukaševica, Parliamentary State Secretary for EU Affairs of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Latvia.

In order to benefit from visa-free travel, citizens from the EU and from Vanuatu must be in possession of a valid ordinary, diplomatic, service/official or special passport. Visa-free travel applies to all categories of persons and for any kind of purposes of travel (for instance tourism, cultural visits, scientific activities, family visits, business etc.), except to persons travelling for the purpose of carrying out a paid activity.
The decision on the conclusion of the agreement will now be sent to the European Parliament with a view to obtaining its consent before they can be concluded. However, they will apply on a provisional basis as from 28 May 2015.

Ireland and the United Kingdom will not be subject to the application of the agreement, in accordance with the protocols annexed to the EU treaties. The visa regime to these member states remains subject to their national legislation.

For more information, FAQ document about the conditions of the visa waiver.

PDF - 85.7 kb
Frequently asked questions
(PDF - 85.7 kb)

Published on 18/03/2020

top of the page